

# **MINUTES**

BE IT REMEMBERED that on the 13<sup>th</sup> of November, 2023, the Honorable Commissioners Court of Uvalde County, Texas convened in regular session in the Commissioners Courtroom of the Uvalde County Courthouse. The following members were in attendance:

William R. Mitchell, County Judge
John Yeackle, Commissioner Pct. #1
Jerry W. Bates, Commissioner Pct. #3
Ronnie Garza, Commissioner Pct. #4
Donna M. Williams, County Clerk and Clerk of the Commissioners Court

Also present were, County Treasurer Joni Deorsam, County Tax-Assessor Collector Rita Verstuyft, and County Road Administrator Dee Kirkpatrick

Absent: Mariano Pargas, Commissioner Pct. #2.

# 1. Consider and act upon call to order, invocation and pledge of allegiance:

The Honorable William R. Mitchell, Uvalde County Judge, called the meeting of November 13, 2023 to order at 10:00 AM, followed with the invocation, led the Pledge of Allegiance, and the Texas Pledge of Allegiance.

# 2. Consider and act upon approval of minutes:

Motion by Commissioner Bates to approve the Minutes of October 23, 2023, as presented. Motion seconded by Commissioner Yeackle.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

1 NOVEMBER 13, 2023 COMMISSIONERS COURT

### 3. Consider and act upon canvass of November 7 election results:

Rescheduled for a special meeting for November 20, 2023 at 12:00 PM.

Motion by Commissioner Bates to reschedule for a special meeting to canvass of November 20, 2023 at 12:00 PM.

Motion seconded by Commissioner Garza.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

# 4. Consider and act upon casting votes for UCAD board of directors:

The terms of J. Allen Carnes, Howard B. Kingsbery, and Tony Moreno as directors of the Uvalde County Appraisal District will expire on December 31. A total of five individuals have been nominated to serve on the board including the three that are expiring. In addition, nominees include Johnny Guzman and Mike Hawkes. Uvalde County has a total of 1,023 votes to cast in the election. The court may cast its votes in any manner the court chooses. The court's nominees are Carnes, Kingsbery, and Moreno. The votes were distributed evenly among the court's nominees.

Motion by Commissioner Garza to cast the 1,023 votes evenly between Carnes, Kingsbery and Moreno for UCAD board of directors.

Motion seconded by Commissioner Yeackle.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

#### 5. Consider and act upon report from Fairplex Director Wendy Speer:

Fairplex Director Wendy Speer presented a report on upcoming events. (See Attached)

#### 6. Consider and act upon Road Administrators Report:

Report by Road Administrator Dee Kirkpatrick.

October 18 – November 7

Motion by Commissioner Bates to accept Road Administrator's Report.

Motion seconded by Commissioner Garza.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

#### 7. Consider and act upon line-item budget amendments:

County Auditor Alice Chapman submitted the line-item budget amendments to the Court for consideration and approval.

Motion by Commissioner Garza to approve the line-item budget amendments, as presented. Motion seconded by Commissioner Bates.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

# 8. Consider and act upon approval of monthly reports:

Monthly reports that are on file for review in the County Clerk's office were presented to the court for consideration and approval.

Motion by Commissioner Bates to approve monthly reports.

Motion seconded by Commissioner Yeackle.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

# 9. Consider and act upon payment of bills:

Motion by Commissioner Bates to approve payment of bills.

Motion seconded by Commissioner Garza.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

# 10. Consider and act upon payroll approval:

Motion by Commissioner Bates to approve payroll.

Motion seconded by Commissioner Garza.

Motion unanimously carried (3-0). (See Attached)

#### 11. Consider and act upon resolutions/proclamations:

The Court approved resolutions and closed the meeting in honor of the memory of the following individuals:

Benito Ramon Avila †
Evangelina Villarreal Chapa †
Zenaida "Sandy" Cyprian †
Gary McDowell Griffin †
Nell Griffin-Graham †
Kenneth Ray Lamascus †
Alberto M. Mireles †
Dolores Marie West †
Frances "Panchita" Ramos Moreno †
June Dunagan Smith †

With no further business, the meeting of <u>November 13, 2023</u> was adjourned at <u>10:21 AM</u>. Exhibits identified under a specific agenda item are included as supporting documentation of the actions taken by the Uvalde County Commissioners Court, and are placed after the minutes and before the page titled Commissioners Court Order.